Second Annual Power2 Resources

Over 200  youth and adults engaged as educational change agents throughout Vermont gathered on April 27th at Lake Morey Inn and Resort for the second annual POWER2: Youth and Adults Shaping Vermont Education Together summit.

Students presented alongside adults in small “sharing sessions” throughout the morning, exploring twelve themes about education in Vermont with youth and adult partnership at the center of driving that transformation (see the bottom of this post for links to resources around each of those themes).

Our guiding questions for the summit that helped to inform, inspire and move participants to authentic dialogue for action included:

  • What does it look and sound like when young people partner with adults as they shape their educational experience?
  • How can we learn from other schools engaged in similar work to elevate student voice?
  • What are our next steps to address the youth-adult relationship in our school, ensuring that both power and responsibility in learning and education are shared?

Participant Packet: includes agenda, agreements, workshop descriptions and more!

Click here to view the resources from Power2 2015

Resources from Youth-Adult Presentation Teams

End-of-Year Studies

Burlington High School:

Gretchen Muller: gmuller@bsdvt.org

BHS Year-End-Studies website

Blue Mountain Union School:

Tracey Puffer: tracy.puffer@bmuschool.org

Senior Capstone Course Description (page 12)

M3: Mindset, Metacognition and Motivation goes LIVE

Hazen Union High School:

Chris Miller: cmiller@ossu.org

Helen Beattie: helen@upforlearning.com

M3 Curriculum Guide

Get Personal, Get Political, Get Meta, Get to Work at Randolph Union School

Randolph Union School:

Elijah Hawkes: ehawkes@orangesouthwest.org

School Website

Handout

Students as Partners in Community Initiatives

Northfield High School:

Luke Foley: foleyl@wwsu.org

School Website

UVM Extension Teen and Leadership Program:

Lauren Traister: Lauren.Traister@uvm.edu

Presentation Slides

Handout

Program Website

From Passive to Active: Self-Directed Learning in Science Classrooms

Proctor High School:

Adam Rosenberg, Principal: adam.rosenberg@rcsu.org

Presentation Slides

To Suspend or Restore? That is the Question

Essex Middle School:

Lindsey Halman: lhalman@etsd.org

School Website

Issue Circle Template

EMS RJ Referral Form

EMS RJ Circle Support Plan

Certificate of Completion

Burlington School District

Henri Sparks, BSD Director of Equity: hsparks@bsdvt.org

Website

The Limes: Arts Infused Project Based Learning at Cabot High School

Cabot High School:

Brian Boyes: bboyes@cabotschool.org

Band Website

School Website

Personalized Learning: What does that mean?

Big Picture Learning

Elliott Washor: ewashor@gmail.com

Website

Youth Shaping Their World: The Young Writers Project

The Young Writers Project

Geoffrey Gevalt: ggevalt@youngwritersproject.org

Website

Proficiency-Based Learhing: Shifting to “Yet”

Champlain Valley Union

Emily Rinkema: erinkema@cssu.org

Standards Based Learning at CVU website

Students as Partners in School Improvement:

Williamstown Middle/High School

April Wortmann: awartmann@onsu.org

Presentation Slides

Feedback Form

Green Mountain Union:

Allyson Oswald:  Allyson.Oswald@trsu.org

Presentation Slides

School Website

The Power of Advisories

Burlington High School

Nadya Bech-Conger:  bhsadvisory@bsdvt.org

Presentation Resources

Advisory Video

Advisories and Personalized Learning at BHS website

Harwood Union High School

Ellen Berrings:  eberrings@wwsu.org

Teacher Advisory Website

The Personalization of Learning Video

All School Dialogue Video

 

Sound Check!: Shaping Our Future Together “Our Time”

Check out the song trailer!

Shaping Our Future Together website

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.