Board of Directors

Home / Advisory Board / Board of Directors

 UP for Learning was awarded it’s independent 501(c)(3) status in May of 2015.


 Board Member


Cara Cookson, Chair
Burlington, VT


Cara has been an ardent advocate for youth voice and small rural schools for over a decade, as a student at Cabot School, and now as a practicing lawyer.

Jan Westervelt, Treasurer
Cabot, VT

Jan is a retired accounting professional

Hillary Laggis, Secretary
Boston, MA

Hillary is a Hazen Union YATST alumni student, and a communications professional.

Tom Alderman
Montpelier, VT

Tom is a retired educator and currently serves on the Board of the Lake Champlain Maritime Museum.

Daniel Baron
Bloomington, IN

Daniel is the founder of the Critical Friends Groups organization (NSRF), the Harmony School (high school) and the Project School in Bloomington, IN. He is a national consultant on school reform.

Taylor Ducharme
Burlington, VT

Taylor is a Hazen Union High School YATST alumni member and current student at the University of Vermont.

Val Gardner
Shelburne, VT

Val is a past principal at Champlain Valley Union School, a Saint Michael’s College professor, and faculty member of the Snelling Educational Leadership program.

Michelle Maseroni
Norwich, VT

Michelle is a former Getting to “Y” youth co-facilitator, and currently an education major at the University of Vermont.

Ally Oswald
Chester, VT

Ally is a student at Green Mountain High School, and a YATST Advisor.

Peter Peltz
Woodbury, VT

Peter is a former Chair of the VT House of Representatives Education Committee, and current member of the VT State Board of Education.

Ben Williams

Ben is a professor and site coordinator for Union Institute and University, an adjunct professor for UVM, and former Director of Teacher Licensure at Goddard College.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.